Home > Comics, PawPrints > “PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s comic pickups for the week of May 9, 2012

“PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s comic pickups for the week of May 9, 2012

Hi everyone,

Here’s a recap of my pickups for this week: Frankenstein Alive, Alive!,  Alabaster Wolves #2, and Deathstroke #9.  Remember, my rating does not necessarily reflect the comic’s quality (although that is taken into consideration) but rather it’s a gauge of my overall interest in the story being told.

5 = Excellent thus far, and will definitely pick up the next issue if/when available.

4 = Pretty good, the series has got my complete interest. Recommend staying with this series.

3 = If I see the next issue on shelves, I might give it  thumb-through. I’m Mildly interested.

2 = Has some good points but I didn’t find the story too interesting/I feel nothing for the characters.

1 = I wasted my money!

0 = I will BURN every copy I find!!!

Frankenstein Alive, Alive! #1

I absolutely LOVE how this book looks. I’m a sucker for this book’s old-school detailed gray art palate, and appreciate how well it compliments the story and eerie visuals. Thankfully, this comic is NOT about the familiar Frankenstein monster – the lumbering flat-topped bolted dumb mass of green flesh and stitches. Instead, this comic’s protagonist is more accurate to the original  monster. This “Frankenstein” is an intelligent and sympathetic character, and is fully capable of eloquently expressing his emotions. However, despite having the human-faculty of reason, his diabolical creation and hideous features serve as a constant reminder to himself and others that he is not natural and his very existence is a mockery of God.

While this is a story worth re-telling, it presents nothing new (yet). All of its poignant notes should ring familiar to those familiar with the original story of Frankenstein. However, this is only the first issue, and I am excited to see where writer Steve Niles will be taking this most macabre legend.

Frankenstein Alive, Alive! #1 – Four out of Five

Deathstroke #9

And now for something completely different…

I will confess that I am very lenient when it comes to reviews. Heck, I am the guy that tried to defend Highlander 2 and the infamous Ultimate Warrior comics afterall, both of which I actually enjoy. So, unlike other readers, I am always up for giving any artist/writer another (and another, and another) shot. So I picked this up and really all I can say about Deathstroke #9 is that it’s merely “okay…I guess”

The story is simple: Deathstroke is contacted to find and terminate Lobo (would have been a good idea to advertise that friggin LOBO was in your comic somewhere on the front page, but what do I know about marketing?) The art is passable… ok ok, Well I’m grading on a curve here. At least there’s no 90 degree female spines that I noticed.

However I absolutely HATE how Liefeld draws futuristic looking weaponry. He draws firearms in the plainest way possible: large rectangular tubes with a trigger, colored in one shade of gray. What is even more frustrating is how, despite the simple design, he is completely unable/unwilling to keep the “details” (what little there are) of the guns the same from panel to panel.

So passable (remember, curve!) art, very thin story (complimented with logically questionable character decisions), and I didn’t feel invested in the slightest to what was going on. While reading, I honestly appreciated Bloodstrike a little more, and sorely yearned for Glory.

Deathstroke #9 – 1 out of 5

Alabaster Wolves #2

Once again, Alabaster Wolves is my favorite pickup of the week. Lieber and Rosenberg are amazing in the amount of imagination they put into each panel, as the comic repeatedly nails the same two artistic flavors: eerily atmospheric, or overtly grotesque. However what really keeps me interested, and makes me eagerly awaiting issue 3, is Kiernan’s masterful storytelling thus far, and convincing dialogue. The one (very minor) mark I have heard from people against the book  is that the talking bird character is “annoying” and a distraction. Frankly, I couldn’t disagree more, and consider him a necessary “down to earth” foil to help the reader feel more invested in the otherwise unrelatable protagonist Darcy. This is actually very reminiscent of the raven character “Matthew” in The Sandman, as he served a similar function alongside Morpheus/Dream, and it should come of little surprise considering Kiernan’s work with The Sandman.

Right now this, and Rachel Rising, are my two A+ titles for horror, suspense, and mystery, and for good reason. If you haven’t already started, pick up issue 1 and 2 soon.

Alabaster Wolves #2 – Five out of Five

And that’s it for this week. Next week I only have Glory #26 on my must-pull list. So I will be talking about that along with whatever else catches my eye.

Until then, Lusiphur says “Don’t move!”

- Furry Senpai

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

