Home > Comics, PawPrints, Rants > “PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s Comic Pulls for June 13, 2012

“PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s Comic Pulls for June 13, 2012

Hi everyone,

Here’s a recap of my pickups for this week: Batman and Robin #10, Deathstroke #10, and The Massive #1.  Remember, my rating does not necessarily reflect the comic’s quality (although that is taken into consideration) but rather it’s a gauge of my overall interest in the story being told.

5 = Excellent thus far, and will definitely pick up the next issue if/when available.

4 = Pretty good, the series has got my complete interest. Recommend staying with this series.

3 = If I see the next issue on shelves, I might give it  thumb-through. I’m Mildly interested.

2 = Has some good points but I didn’t find the story too interesting/I feel nothing for the characters.

1 = I wasted my money!

0 = I will BURN every copy I find!!!

Also, I am always careful to avoid spoilers as much as possible.

So let’s get to it!

Batman and Robin #10

Easily, this was my highlight of the week. I’ve always had a soft spot for the Boy Wonder, no matter who was wearing the green tights. Here, they all come together under Damian Wayne’s challenge to see who is the “Best Robin.” I absolutely love the idea that’s presented in this book of the role of “Robin” being a kind of brotherhood and legacy. Each Robin, Grayson, Todd (oh yes, him t00), Drake, and Wayne all take the honor of the title very seriously, so much so that they’re willing to beat each other to a pulp to preserve it!

As feathers fly in the skies of Gotham over the lineage of the greatest superhero sidekick in history, a sinister plot to wipe out Batman once and for all is being developed.

As good as the “Court of Owls” saga in Batman is, it never grabbed me as much as this book did. Get it, now.

Batman and Robin #10: 5 out of 5 

And now for something completely different….

Okay, here is where I turn in my “Comic Critic” badge (although I think I already did that with my review of the Warrior comics). Deathstroke #10 is not that bad, not nearly as bad as #9. I gave it another shot, since it just didn’t seem possible that a comic with Lobo in it could be so forgetful and boring. The art is still what you’d expect, the most annoying error being the weapons disappearing and reappearing in and out of Deathstroke’s hands from panel to panel. However, Lobo did kick some ass, as did Zealot. This by no means a good comic, but I was at least entertained. #9 was Nyquil, and #10 is NOS, it may taste terrible but it will keep you awake and reading.

Deathstroke #10: 2 out of 5

And if that review didn’t make readers hate me, then this one definitely will…

The Massive #1

The Massive has come out to much hype and very positive reviews. I was excited to pick this up, since the premise seemed right up my alley: Set in a  post-apocalyptic world, a determined oceanic activist group scours pirate-infested waters in search of their missing sister-ship “The Massive.” I’m a bleeding heart for environmental issues, I love stories set an a dystopian doomsday setting, and it’s being put on shelves by Dark Horse, whom I’ve been very high on lightly.

Unfortunately, this book did not “click” with me whatsoever. Whenever I started to feel the slightest bit invested in what was happening, the book would, without warning, bludgeon me over the head with one or two whole pages of exposition about the environmental catastrophes that have shaped the world. From a storytelling perspective, it is usually best to have bits of background information be revealed naturally,rather than clumsily wedged in the middle of the story.  Unfortunately, due to a narrative that resembled a young driving student with how frequently and repeatedly it’d hit the gas and then abruptly brake, this made for a rather choppy and annoying reading experience.

Compound that with bland characters that I couldn’t care less about, and I’m forced to rate it low, lower than Deathstroke #10 even. Again, the rating is not a gauge for the quality of the comic, but rather my interest to keep reading. I was at least entertained with Deathstroke, but here I just felt guilty that I was not enjoying this book nearly as much as everyone else.

The Massive #1: 1 out of 5

And that’s it for this week. I know I teased on my twitter that I was going to review the new KISS comic, but I passed on it. I loathed their previous comics, and only had so much cash on me. However, it has received some praise, much more than I thought it would. I am honestly kicking myself a little bit for not grabbing it, in favor of Deathstroke #10.

Anyway, that’s it for this week.

- Furry Senpai

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

