Home > Article ideas, Gaming, Rants, Senpai Magazine stuff > Dreamt I was Taokaka/Why Capcom and G4 annoy me

Dreamt I was Taokaka/Why Capcom and G4 annoy me

Well, I had an odd night of sleep to say the least.

I dreamt I was the one and only, Taokaka of the Kaka Clan, and I was trying to bust Bang Shishigami out of prison by distracting Captain America, his guard, with things that (I thought) were American… In America! Of course hilarity ensued as I tried to sing the National Anthem (butchered it, but not as bad as Christina Aguilera apparently), engaged Cpt. America in a debate about xmas, wondered aloud if I can run for President with “Boobie Lady” (Litchi), and devoured hotdogs.

"By the name of the... big white thingy in the sky.. Tao shall punish you!"

Want to know what’s a really weird coincidence? Taokaka’s birthday is today! February 22nd!
What does this all have to do with my disappointment with Capcom and G4? Well… I’m getting to that, but first I need to explain my love for Blazblue. I remember picking up the first Blazblue, Calamity Trigger, right around the time I got my ps3. I wanted a fun fighting game for it, and this seemed like a nice pick, plus I was a fan of the Guilty Gear series, so why not?
I pop in the game and up comes a strange menu of characters, each one more more unique than the last. I had no idea who to pick, there weren’t any Ryu-clones here to help me get into the game. I began my BlazBlue experience by playing Rachel Alucard (because Gothic Lolita style is f’n awesome!), and progressed through the game’s story mode. As I did, I became acquainted with all the different characters and appreciated their detailed backstories and personalities. The best part of that game was watching the dialogue unfold among these characters, which allowed me to get to know them. As I got to know them, I liked them even more and wanted to play them not because they seemed powerful or certain ones seemed “top tier,” but because I generally loved the character. So I became a Taokaka player, not because of her lightning-quick style, but because she’s hilarious and an easy to love underdog.
And here is where I know I’ll draw a lot of hate, but it is a huge plus for me if I can get behind the characters in a game. Engaging gameplay is always appreciated, but in quality titles like BlazBlue and Marvel vs Capcom, that is to be expected. What I want are reasons to generally care about the characters and want to play each and every single one.

Sadly, I do not have that incentive with Marvel vs Capcom 3. Now I understand you might be thinking “Well, Marvel vs Capcom 2 and 1 didn’t have a story mode, and you LOVED those games, right? So why are you hating on Marvel vs Cap 3?!” True… but the prior games had dozens of characters I knew and loved from outside the game, which was good because the game itself wasn’t going to give me a single reason to give a shit, outside of being able to play as them and smack around other capcom and marvel icons.

Sadly the third installment is much more stingy with their selection.

If I’m going to have to pay more for extra characters, then I want to get the most out of the characters that are available to me. So let’s see… the guy from Bionic Commando? Meh, didn’t care about him the first time around. Modoc? LOL when am I ever going to play as him? Trish? Huh?? Tron Bonne? Wasn’t she from Megaman 64? I’d think they’d want to forget about that, but somehow she’s in it… and Megaman’s not, ok…Taskmaster, C-Viper.. meh… they’re not all BAD characters at all, but a lot of them I feel nothing for, and a story mode (or something that will at least have them intereacting with eachother) might make me want to play as them. That, or have unlockables. If I was able to unlock a character in the game’s Arcade mode by beating it with say, Modoc, I might actually give just enough of a crap to try him out.

Yes I know you can’t really have much of a coherent “Story” around a cast like his, but at least try. It’s Capcom, and they are not strangers to trying out new original and fun ideas. Maybe have “rival matches” too, which will be right before Galactus, and depending on who you pick, a certain locked fighter may appear on the opposing rival team. Or maybe have a brief interactive comic that’s unlocked every time you beat the game with a character that discusses their backstory. Something/anything is all I ask, because right now it is just feels too emotionless… which is a shame considering the roster.

Before I continue I want to make it clear that it is a lot of fun to play, and it’s not a bad fighting game by any means (it’s actually quite good), but as good as this is, Capcom can do better. The annoying thing is that they KNOW they can do better, and will do better.. in the form of downloadable content.

So onto my G4 point, I decided to go check out what Adam Sessler thought about it. Surely he’d agree that it’s decent but could have been better. Yeah, he’s my boy, he’s bound to give it a well deserved 3 out of 5, maybe even 4, but definitely not 5 out of 5… right?

Dammit…

Well let’s keep reading here..k, Brian Leahy says it has a “Great cast of characters” Eh.. let’s keep going… “Rewarding fighting system” that’s true, but expected from Capcom… so what else is there? Oh.. “Excellent training mode” oh good, it has a training mode! Does it have an options mode too? Adjustable difficulty? Time limit? Online Multiplayer? Spectator Mode? Er wait… it actually doesn’t have Spectator Mode? Oh… I was being sarcastic there.. hm.. ok… er what’s that? Maybe as DLC?

You know what’s sad? They announced DLC a few hours after the game’s release… And you know what’s even sadder? I’m probably going to buy it. STREET FIGHTER 1 RYU!!! HELL YEAH!

Alright... Now when they release Sagat as DLC then I'll be in business!

I’ll keep playing and probably do a bit on it with fellow-fan Dave in an upcoming issue.

– Furry Senpai
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Please note…
1/24/12
This post is about a year old now, I feel I should add in that Capcom has “improved” on the original MvC3… not through DLC as I thought, but by making another MVC3 game… yeah.. well, it’s old news at this point, but just thought I should add this in there.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

