Home > Rants > ATTENTION GOOD BANDS: STOP BREAKING UP! (Yes, you Thursday, and Solemn Novena!) I MEAN IT!

ATTENTION GOOD BANDS: STOP BREAKING UP! (Yes, you Thursday, and Solemn Novena!) I MEAN IT!

Hey everyone,

I wanted to rant on something a little different today. A few days ago I received news that Thursday is calling it quits. In November, they issued this statement:

“Despite the fantastic year that the band has enjoyed, creatively, things haven’t been as easy for us on a personal level. Without diving into detail, it’s fair to say that this year has been an endless series of personal difficulties. We haven’t had any falling out and are all still close. I’m sure that we will continue to create, in some capacity, together. We’ve talked about turning Thursday into something else: a non-profit, a band that only records sporadically, a collection of other projects… Underneath it all, the personal circumstances involved make it impossible to continue Thursday in the spirit that has made it special. So, we stop. For now, at least.

“We hope to see many of you at these last shows. They’ll be a lot of fun. We promise.”

So there is hope that they will continue to make music. However it is really sad to see this band go. They are absolutely amazing live, and combine raw energy with creative lyrics in such a way that most other  current rock bands couldn’t hope to (and yet they’re somehow more popular). Thursday were never afraid to experiment with their music and, for the most part, their efforts succeeded in establishing themselves as a band whose sound always remained a refreshing alternative to the mainstream.

Now you know what sucks worse than a new band dying on you? One that you discover, immediately love, and find out later that they split-up a few months before.

Enter Solemn Novena:

During October of last year I stumbled upon Solemn Novena on one of the few Industrial/Goth podcasts I have loaded on my ipod. Their sound immediately stood out due to its high energy and unreliance on synthesizers and other techy tricks. Don’t get me wrong, I stomp as hard as any wolf to stuff from the likes of Combichrist and Suicide Commando, but after awhile one can get fatigued from their synthetic beats. At the same time, I enjoy the melodramatic gothic melodies of bands like Golden Apes and Pretentious, moi? but some of their songs can drag a bit; they make for great “downtime” music, but not something I prefer to listen to right before work.

Solemn Novena has it both ways. Their music is characterised by its typically fast-paced, guitar-led tempo paired with incredibly brooding lyrics of unrequited love, capably sung through both male and female vocals. Excellent for when I need to drown my sorrows, or need to feel pumped up at the gym.

So I was hooked on them immediately in October 2010, and remained in blissful ignorance for about a month until I discovered later that they officially broke up in July of that year. They haven’t officially stated why they split, however one can guess. According to their official website www.solemnnovena.com the band began, oddly, around a “sordid love triange.” Built on that kind of foundation, it is of little wonder why they split so quickly. Still, they did succeed (no surprise though) in writing truly authentic music about depression, temptation, and all the darker bits of love that those conformists don’t want you to know about.

Until next time,

– Furry Senpai

  1. December 28, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    I found out about Thursday and Thrice on the same day but I’m STILL so gutted about Thursday. I’m holding out hope that this isn’t for good. Such great bands.

    • December 28, 2011 at 9:55 pm

      I know, it’s terrible! Thursday is in the process of its final tour together now. It’s actually playing in my state, CT, today, but I can’t go >,<

      I'm hopeful that it isn't a permanent split, they're just too good.

  2. December 29, 2011 at 12:41 am

    I hope for Thursday it isn’t a permanent split. They are really awesome. A non-profit band would still be nice.

    It’s my first time hearing about Solemn Novena but I will listen to them.

    • December 29, 2011 at 3:22 am

      Yeah, Thursday is awesome. As for Solemn Novena, it’s very different than Thursday, but I like a lot of different types of music. Youtube it if you have a chance, I personally recommend “Siren” or “Faerytale,” two of my favorite songs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

