Home > Comics, PawPrints, Rants > New Section! “PawPrints”

New Section! “PawPrints”

Hi everyone,

I’ve been thinking about reviewing current comic books on my blog for some time. However I’ve never gotten around to doing it. The reason  for this largely that I feel like I cannot adequately judge a comic’s quality based on just one issue.

So, instead, what I’ve decided to do is regularly run down my most recent pickups with my immediate thoughts about them. I will also rate each comic from 1 to 5.

The rating will NOT necessarily reflect the whole comic’s quality, but rather my interest in picking up the next issue.

So without further ado, here’s my “PawPrints” for the week of  4/18/12:

Micro Series: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – Leonardo #4 

This nostalgia trip is punctuated by art reminiscent of the gritty 80s and early 90s TMNT comic. However, there are some backstory tidbits about the Turtles that may come as surprise to longtime fans. Every one that fondly remembers the Turtles needs to pick up at least one issue from this mini series.

4 out of 5 

Batman #8

After barely escaping the mysterious Court of Owls Bruce Wayne, along with Gotham’s most prominent figures, finds himself the target of an all out attack on the city. Wayne and Alfred make a stand as they battle back the assassins in the Bat Cave, as chaos ensues around them. My biggest gripe with the new 52 Batman so far is how temperamental and nutty Bruce Wayne is portrayed. In issue six, the Court of Owls has him foaming at the mouth and babbling. In issue seven, Bruce Wayne is punching Dick Grayson right in the face without warning.  And in this issue he’s fighting a cult of ninja owls in a bathrobe, before donning ridiculous-looking  bat armor in the final pages. Don’t get me wrong, the storytelling here is very good, but the characterization of Wayne here is not quite my cup of tea.

Coming up in the next few weeks, Batgirl, Batwing, Robin and others take the fight to the Owls. I will probably check in on them next time in their individual comics, and might give Batman #9 a pass.
2 out of 5 

Prophet #24

Let me be clear…
I’ve read Prophet 23 and 24 and I still have absolutely no clue what the heck is going on.

However, I still somehow find it compelling. It is easily one of the most Epic-looking comics I’ve read (or perhaps, “looked at” instead of truly “read”) in some time, due to the amount of imagination that was clearly put into illustrating the incredibly strange yet alluring alien landscapes, lifeforms, and technology of Prophet. I’m interested to see where the story is going and will give it one more issue.
3 out of 5

Doctor Who: Classics Series 4 #2 

This book isn’t really “bad” per se… it’s just that the Doctor is more or less completely irrelevant to the story. He barely does anything to advance the plot (except tossing a rock to throw off some guy’s aim with their lazer gun). He is even captured twice at gun point, and freed both times by secondary characters. In fact, if you were to take the 6th Doctor completely out of this comic, it really would not alter any of the events of the story at all. For the next issue, I’ll give it a thorough flip-through at the store before deciding if I want to plunk down 4 bucks again.

2 out of 5

Next week there’s really nothing big on my radar comic wise, but the week after I will definitely be grabbing: Worlds’ Finest #1 (Power Girl & Huntress!… why did they close Power Girl’s boob-window?)  and Sonic the Hedgehog #236 (shit’s very depressing in Mobius right now…)

Until next time,

Furry Senpai

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

