Home > Comics, PawPrints, Rants > “PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s Comic pickups for April 25 2012

“PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s Comic pickups for April 25 2012

Hi everyone,

I know last week I implied that I wouldn’t be doing a “PawPrints” for this week, because it seemed like there wouldn’t be anything major that’d interest me on shelves. Oh sure, there’s AvX VS #1… a tie-in to Avengers vs X-men, which I couldn’t care less about – I might grab it in trade paperback when it wraps up though.

However, I had some time to kill before meeting with friends at the pub after work, so I popped into my local comic store. I’m very happy I decided to drop by, as I came out with some really great reads. Again, as I said in my previous post, my rating doesn’t necessarily reflect the quality of the particular issue (although that is definitely taken into consideration) but rather my desire to continue reading and supporting the particular series.

The Goon #39 

“Gimmicks inside” indeed! This cover sums up exactly what’s going on in this book, and about 70% of what you’ll see on shelves at any given comic store . Eric Powell, sick to his stomach over the amount of mainstream coverage and $$$ that superhero comics from Marvel and DC rake in, decided to give The Goon a bit of a makeover in this “landmark issue.” Here, Powell hits most of the major money-grabbing gimmicks of superhero comics such as: reboots, primary colored altered egos, angsty monologues, killing off the main character, and plenty of over the top action shots (even a two page spread).

Fortunately, The Goon decides to screw the nonsense and return to the basics at the end of the story. The writing here, confined to a single issue, sufficiently passes for a biting satire on the current state of the comic industry. It concludes with Powell spelling out his intentions for this issue, and lamenting the fact that “Out of the top 1,000 comics sold in the US in 2011, 24 were not Marvel or DC superhero titles.” Despite the name, while The Goon is never the flashiest book on shelves, it remains one of the smartest (which isn’t hard… given much of its competition from Marvel and DC). It’s always been a welcome pick-up on my weekly visits, and has yet to disappoint. Those that are on the fence would do well to check it out (although this particular issue may not be the best starting point, obviously).

 The Goon #39: 5 out of 5 

The Li’L Depressed Boy #10

It is incredibly ironic how things work out sometimes. I finish reading Powell’s rant on how many quality comics go unnoticed, and I pick this up. I finish reading, immediately tweet my feelings about Li’L Depressed Boy #10, and got a reply back from S. Steven Struble (the creator, writer, and artist) thanking me for picking it up and saying “It’s hard to notice the comic that’s riding the wall of the party, not talking to anybody…” true.

The story of the Li’L Depressed Boy is the day to day highs and lows (mostly lows…) of the titular melancholy rag-doll boy’s life. In this issue, our hero(?) has felt the sting of unrequited love after coming to the realization that the relationship he thought he had with a girl he liked, was never really a relationship. Also he has just been hired as a movie theater usher. Speaking from experience from similar situations on both accounts (grr, why do women like saying “love you!” when they don’t, and I worked mostly concession actually) it’s pretty rough. However, there appears to be a glimmer of hope with the positive people that enter his life later in this issue.

One may never give this comic a shot, wrongly thinking that it is mostly cover-to-cover emo whining. That is not the case at all (the li’l depressed boy hardly speaks anyway). This is simply an underdog story with the overarching obstacle being life – something that everyone can relate to.

The Li’L Depressed Boy #10: 5 out of 5

Bloodstrike #27

Okay and now for something completely different…

I want to try to briefly explain the plot so far… but I do not know where to begin. Just know that it follows a team of amoral living-dead super-beings that are employed by the government to violently take down perceived threats to national-security. It is pretty cliche, very 90s, incredibly over the top, pretty dumb at times… but I’m really digging it thus far. Although, my favorite character is not any of the major super-powered protagonists, but rather the archetypal evil corporate suit: Director Keyes. The best way I can describe him is imagine every single corrupt/greedy corporate head from every single piece of dystopian cyberpunk fiction you’ve seen or read, and that’s him. That’s right, he is Highlander 2’s David Blake of The Shield Corporation.

I don't know what's wrong with me and why I can't stop referencing this movie. *sighs and puts another quarter in his Zeist jar*

The writing and artwork here is vastly superior to its 90s incarnation, thankfully. Bloodstrike knows what kind of comic it is trying to be, and doesn’t take many risks.  It has been keeping me entertained, but I doubt I will be sticking around long-term.

Bloodstrike #27: 3 out of 5

Next week, I’ll be pulling Sonic the Hedgehog #236 and Worlds’ Finest #1… and probably something else, since my comic store requires a $10 limit to use debit/credit, and I hardly ever have money on me.

– Furry Senpai

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

