Home > PawPrints > “PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s Comic pickups for the week of May 2, 2012

“PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s Comic pickups for the week of May 2, 2012

Hi everyone,

Here’s a recap of my pickups for this week: World’s Finest #1, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #9, Sonic the Hedgehog #236, and Skeleton Key.  Remember, my rating does not necessarily reflect the comic’s quality (although that is taken into consideration) but rather it’s a gauge of my overall interest in the story being told.

5 = Excellent thus far, and will definitely pick up the next issue if/when available.

4 = Pretty good, the series has got my complete interest. Recommend staying with this series.

3 = If I see the next issue on shelves, I might give it  thumb-through. I’m Mildly interested.

2 = Has some good points but the story was not that interesting/I feel nothing for the characters.

1 = I wasted my money!

0 = I will BURN every copy I find!!!

Worlds’ Finest #1 

Worlds’ Finest #1 details Supergirl’s and Robin’s transportation from their home of Earth 2, to Earth Prime. On this new Earth they make new identities for themselves as Power Girl and Huntress, as they try to find a way back home.

I hate to say it but, outside of the artwork, the whole experience was very “meh…” Perhaps most disappointing is how much the comic tells the reader, instead of SHOWING them, specifically with regards to how Power Girl and Huntress have had to adjust to their new Earth.  Oh, and speaking disappointing, Powergirl’s uniform has gone through a few changes:

On the left is the “classic” Power Girl. After DC’s “New 52” relaunch, it was announced that Power Girl would get a makeover, alla the middle picture. Like most fans, my knee-jerk reaction was rage. However, the newer look grew on me. Although I still bemoan how plain her uniform is, I prefer her shorter hairstyle there. Unfortunately, for Worlds Finest #1, Power Girl was changed again to what we see on the right…uhm yeah… not a fan.

Despite that, the artwork inside looks great. However, there’s not much else to keep me interested enough to pick up issue 2.

Worlds’ Finest #1: 2 out of 5

Sonic the Hedgehog #236

First of all, I absolutely LOVE this cover, and it serves as much more than a quirky eye-catcher since it relates directly to the story – Sonic gets serious! If you read my look at the last issue, you’ll know that things are very dark for Sonic and his friends right now. There is a traitor among their band of freedom fighters, Bunnie has disappeared, Antoine is at death’s door, the governing council is corrupt, and Sonic’s true love Sally has been “roboticized.”

And in this issue, things actually get worse as Robotnik returns with a vengeance, violently taking control of entire villages as the demoralized freedom fighters are slow to respond. By the end of the comic, Sonic manages to pull it together and confronts Mecha Sally, as the freedom fighters organize  and rile the citizenry to rebellion.

My only marks against this issue is that I feel as if things are moving much too fast,and there wasn’t a single word devoted to what Silver has been up to since the last issue.

Anyone that fondly remembers the Sonic “SatAm” characters should look into the Archie series. While it is a “kid-friendly” comic, there is a lot here for older fans to enjoy, and this current arc would be an great point to start.

 Sonic the Hedgehog #236: 4 out of 5

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #9

I really can’t understand it. I know he’s old, but he taught the NINJA TURTLES for cryin’ out loud! So why the heck does Splinter get kidnapped about as much, if not more than, April O’Neil?! Seriously, in the first movie he gets nabbed, in the cartoon he got nabbed, in the videogames he got nabbed, and here he is again held captive.

With that rant out of the way, TMNT #9 continues to satisfy as it becomes clear that this comic is managing to successfully juggle nostalgia with its own direction. Krang (looking much much different and more menacing), Casey Jones, and Shredder appear here as the turtles continue to fight their way to their master.

I continue to recommend this comic, and urge fans to pick it up soon before Michael Bay ruins the turtles for everyone.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #9: 4 out of 5

Skeleton Key

This issue marks the return of Andi Watson’s popular Skeleton Key, as a one-shot collection of three short stories from the series. These shorts are about two girls: Kitsune (a fox spirit… as the name says) and Tamsin (a school girl) who use a skeleton key to open doors to different worlds as they try to find their way back home. Each one of their adventures involves a brush with the supernatural/unexplained, whether it’s trying to find their way out of a zombie music-video, or convincing a hotel’s ghost to find a more respectable occupation.

This comic also gets brownie points from me for its little nod to Dead Can Dance with their first story ironically titled “Dead Can’t Dance.” Right next to Nox Arcana, and Ataraxia, Dead Can Dance is one of my “go-to” artists for Dungeons and Dragons mood-setting tunes.

Skeleton Key is an enjoyable read. It manages to be imaginative, cute, funny, and creepy, but it all feels much too short. I suppose that this should be expected since it is what it is, three mini-stories confined to merely 24 pages. Due to this limitation new readers, such as myself, will leave satisfied but questioning the veracity of Dark Horse’s boast that Skeleton Key is “one of the greatest all-ages comics of all time!” Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great comic, but due to its length it isn’t able to leave THAT kind of impression.

 Skeleton Key: 3 out of 5

Next week I will be picking up Alabaster Wolves #2 along with whatever else catches my eye. Until then, keep reading.

– Furry Senpai

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

