Home > Comics, PawPrints, Rants > “PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s Comic Pulls for June 20, 2012

“PawPrints” – Furry Senpai’s Comic Pulls for June 20, 2012

Hi everyone,

Here’s a recap of my pickups for this week: Birds of Prey #10, Glory #27, and Astonishing X-Men #51 .  Remember, my rating does not necessarily reflect the comic’s quality (although that is taken into consideration) but rather it’s a gauge of my overall interest in the story being told.

5 = Excellent thus far, and will definitely pick up the next issue if/when available.

4 = Pretty good, the series has got my complete interest. Recommend staying with this series.

3 = If I see the next issue on shelves, I might give it  thumb-through. I’m Mildly interested.

2 = Has some good points but I didn’t find the story too interesting/I feel nothing for the characters.

1 = I wasted my money!

0 = I will BURN every copy I find!!!

Also, I am always careful to avoid spoilers as much as possible.

So let’s get to it!

Birds of Prey #10

Plenty of action in this issue, but not much else. Here the Birds of Prey are deep in the Amazon, fighting plant monsters, as they continue their quest to rejuvenate their fallen comrade, Poison Ivy. There’s nothing really wrong with this book, but it feels like TPB filler. Oh, and Black Canary can fly over short distances using her Sonic Scream. I didn’t know she could do that…

If you give this one a pass, you really won’t miss much at all. Issue 9 was an enjoyable read due to the interplay among the characters. It almost looked as if the team was on the brink of splitting up, as the Birds trust problems come to a head. Sadly, this issue seems to forget all of that.

Birds of Prey #10: 1 out of 5

—–

Glory #27

Glory kicks ass. Seriously.

Since issue 23, I’ve lauded Ross Campbell’s art in Glory. The titular protagonist looks exactly how an Amazonian warrior from outer space SHOULD look: Towering and f’n scary. However her facial expressions have a surprising amount of range. At times Glory appears childlike and innocent, and other times she’s an absolute monster.

What amazes me the most about the art is how  wildly diverse and detailed the aliens are. Indeed, I’m hard-pressed to think of  anywhere else where I’ve seen nameless fodder space-critters look this good.

The writing and dialogue is spot-on, and cleverly sets up a twist that completely changes everything that’s happened so far.

Can’t wait for 28!

Glory #27: 5 out of 5

—–

Astonishing X-Men #51

Aw’r, I always cry at weddings!
In this landmark issue. as one could surmise from the cover, Northstar marries his civilian boyfriend, Kyle Jinadu. I almost hate to admit it, but I am surprised Marvel handled the marriage of two of its homosexual characters with so much class. There’s plenty of neat cameos in this book, and the dialogue between the characters feels very natural; my favorite part being Wolverine’s pre-marriage pep-talk for Northstar.

Honestly, I think this is the first Marvel book I’ve purchased in months, and am I happy I did. The character development is absolutely fantastic, complimented with excellent writing that delivers its point without coming across as preachy. If you haven’t already, pick it up, if not for its historical and cultural significance, then for how good you will feel after reading it.

Astonishing X-Men #51: 5 out of 5

So not a bad week in comics at all. Sure, Birds of Prey #10 was pretty ho-hum, but I managed to pull the best issue of Glory yet, and the marriage of Northstar and Kyle was just  awesome.

Until next time,

– Furry Senpai

  1. July 4, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    great post

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

